Want to participate in the forum? Sign Up or Sign In here.
RegisterLogin

Sign In

New Owner Of A 1/2 lab 1/2 pit. Would love some advice.

Welcome to Pitbulls.org Forums Pit Bull Talk General Discussion New Owner Of A 1/2 lab 1/2 pit. Would love some advice.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    patriot1025
    Participant

Hello everyone! My boyfriend and I got our dog Patriot (half lab half pit) from an old friend of mine 3 days ago. He has had a 1/2 pit in the past and was dying for one since we just moved. He is adorable and sweet and loving. He will be a year old on January 25th. I am new to owning a puppy and also a half pit. Just any sort of advice would be awesome. We have a couple issues. JUMPING, chewing, not the best listener, very entergetic :)(thats not so much an issue) and one weird thing….his previous owner said he never barks and we havent heard him bark yet. I would like for him to do so if someone knocks or there is a situation where I need his protection. I am home alone sometime and would like for him to alert me at any sign of danger. Any suggestions? Thanks!

loveabull88
    Participant

I would enroll him in some basic obedience classes. If you shop around you can probably find decent priced ones in your area. most pits arent good gaurd dogs. They dont protect property well but They are protective over their people.(my fiance and i cant even play fight without kudo getting in the middle lol) So im pretty sure if someone tried to hurt you, or anyone in his “pack” he’d protect you. Pits tend to protect people not property. contrary to popular beleif.

nikki9093
    Participant