Want to participate in the forum? Sign Up or Sign In here.
RegisterLogin

Sign In

Getting a pit?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Andergrl03
    Participant

Hey all I’m new here. My husband, daughter and I found a beautiful 10 month old pit mix in our local shelter. We have been considering the breed for a long time but my parents are so against it we’ve just kind of put it off, even though we don’t live with them, lol. Anyhow, this little guy seems very friendly. Not stand offish at all and came up to the bars for a good butt scratchin’ and gave us all kinds of kisses. We really want to do our research before we make a decision, which is how I found this site. We’ve had GSD’s and rott shepherd mixes but never a pit. Any directions you can point me will be greatly appreciated!

Jessica

houch105
    Participant

im new to pits and my red nose pit is 8 months old now shes just like one of the kids ,shes the most loving dog iv ever owned ,yes she can be a handle full at times but plenty of love and exercise soon calms her down .i cant say to you get a pit of dont get one but from my point of view there the best dogs iv ever come across and i spoil her rotten ,shes my little baby and i love her to bits.

Vanilla’s_Daddy
    Participant

Jessica,
    I was in the same position. My Mom is convinced that I’ll be killed one night (Vanilla sleeps with us… and she doesn’t bother our cats).

We went to see my In Laws last night and the rules were that Vanilla stay on a leash and they would NOT sit near her.
    By the end of the night, my Mother in Law was sitting on the couch cuddling her.

The breed does have a bad rep but they really are just like any other dog. They need training and exercise. If you have a fenced in yard where you can supervise him or access to a local dog park, you’re good to go.